The jury process is an important and vital process to the courts function. Jury duty is a responsibility that all qualified citizens must share. Our goal is to provide information and answers to most questions you may have about jury service.
Jurors are randomly selected from a master list identifying all citizens eligible for jury service within Burke County. The list is compiled from driver's license and voter registration information.
Jury Information Line: 762-225-6500
Jury email for questions: juryinformation.Burke@gsccca.org
Any citizen of Georgia is qualified to serve on a Jury if he or she:
- Is a citizen of the United States of America;
- Is 18 years of age or older;
- Is a current resident of Burke County;
- Is not a convicted felon, who has not had voting right restored.
The laws of Georgia allow exemptions from jury service for the following reasons (complete the attached affidavit, if needed): JURY AFFIDAVIT
- Persons 70 years of age or older that do not wish to serve.
- Not a resident of Burke County to serve on a jury.
- Persons that are permanently disabled, either mentally or physically (physician's letter required).
- The person is a full-time student at a college, university, vocational school, or other postsecondary school.
- Any service member on ordered military duty and the spouse of any such service member shall be excused or deferred from jury duty.
- Jurors are to report to Jury Assembly Room, first floor of the Burke County Judicial Center, 200 East 6th Street, Waynesboro GA 30830.
- Parking is available at the rear of the Burke County Judicial Center, 200 East 6th Street, Waynesboro, GA 30830.
- Reporting Time:
- Jurors are to appear by 9:00 a.m. on the date to report or as directed by summons.
- All persons entering the Judicial Center will be screened by Court Security. Weapons and items such as pocket knives, knitting needles, and chemical agents, such as mace and pepper spray, are prohibited.
- Outside food and drink are not allowed in the Judicial Center. Snack machines, Coke machines, water, and coffee are available in the building.
- Casual business attire is recommended. Shorts, tank tops, bare midriffs, shirts with controversial depictions or wording, or similar dress are not allowed in the courtrooms. The temperature in the courtroom is usually cold, please dress accordingly. Shoes must be worn at all times; flip –flops are not allowed.
- Once jurors are empaneled and report to a courtroom, it is up to the Judge to what time court will end each day. Court can go past 5:00 PM.
Jurors are paid on a daily basis. The Clerk's office will mail a check to each juror on the final day of jury service. Each day a juror serves, they will receive $25.00 compensation.
Jurors who are hearing and/or visually impaired are not prohibited from serving on a jury. For ease of accommodation, please notify our office prior to your service if you need assistance.